Tehelka.comtehelkahindi.com criticalfutures.org

Search for archived stories here...

    SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
    Posted on 28 October 2012

    Cabinet reshuffle 2012: A mix of seasoned leaders and younger politicians, Andhra, West Bengal, Punjab and Rajasthan get represented

    As election season draws near, ground realities kept in mind while including new ministers in the council

    Ashhar Khan
    New Delhi

    As scheduled, the final reshuffle of the UPA -II government took place on Sunday 28 October. With this the uncertainty, on the inclusion of new faces into the council of ministers, prevailing since the Monsoon session of Parliament has come to an end.

    The reshuffle shows a mix of seasoned leaders and younger politicians. The imprint of Congress General Secretary Rahul Gandhi is visible in this reshuffle as several young leaders have been given important ministerial portfolios. These include MM Pallam Raju (HRD), Ajay Maken (Poverty Alleviation). Minister of State (Independent Charge) portfolios have been given to Jyotiraditya Scindia, Sachin Pilot, Bhanwar Jitendra Singh. These are young leaders work closely with the Congress general secretary.

    However, on the other hand ground realities have also been kept in mind for including new ministers in the council. West Bengal has got a total of three ministers, reflecting the political aspirations of the Congress in the state.

    Interestingly, Andhra Pradesh has also got a lion’s share in the current rejig. The Congress, still undecided about the future of Telangana is in an appeasing mood. That's the reason the state is big gainer in terms of berths.

    Congress has also stood steadily behind Salman Khurshid, looking beyond the controversy on the functioning of his charitable trust. Khurshid has been elevated to the top four as the new External Affairs minister.

    Shashi Tharoor is back as MoS in the HRD ministry. He had to quit within a year of joining the council of ministers.

    There has also been a reshuffle in major ministries also; Veerappa Moily has been made Petroleum Minister while Pawan Kumar Bansal gets the Railway Ministry. Before the Winter session of Parliament starts Kamal Nath has been made the Parliamentary affairs ministry.

    The regional aspirations have been also taken into consideration in this reshuffle. Two new ministers have been inducted from the Northeast. While representatives have also come in from Punjab, and Rajasthan.

    Though a significant reshuffle, this has also been an image makeover exercise for the government. With just about 20 months left for the scheduled general elections in 2014, it was perhaps the last chance for the UPA-II government to get the balance right.

    New entrants into the Union Council of Ministers:-


    1. K Rahman Khan

    Minority Affairs

    2. Dinsha J. Patel


    3. Ajay Maken

    Housing & Urban Poverty

    4. MM Pallam Raju

    Human Resource Development

    5. Ashwani Kumar

    Law & Justice

    6. Harish Rawat

    Water Resources

    7. Chandresh Kumari Katoch



    1. Manish Tewari

    Information & Broadcasting

    2. K. Chiranjeevi



    1. Shashi Tharoor

    Human Resource Development

    2. Kodikunnil Suresh

    Labour & Employment

    3. Tariq Anwar

    Agriculture & Food Processing Industries

    4. K. J. Surya Prakash Reddy


    5. Ranee Narah

    Tribal Affairs

    6. Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury


    7. A.H. Khan Choudhury

    Health & Family Welfare

    8. Sarvey Sathyanarayana

    Road Transport & Highways

    9. Ninong Ering

    Minority Affairs

    10. Deepa Dasmunsi

    Urban Development

    11. Porika Balram Naik

    Social Justice & Empowerment

    12. Kruparani Killi

    Communications & Information Technology

    13. Lalchand Kataria


    The portfolios of the following Ministers changed


    1. M. Veerappa Moily

    Petroleum & Natural Gas

    2. S. Jaipal Reddy

    Science & Technology and Earth Sciences

    3. Kamal Nath

    Urban Development & Parliamentary Affairs

    4. Vayalar Ravi

    Overseas Indian Affairs

    5. Kapil Sibal

    Communications & Information Technology

    6. C.P. Joshi

    Road Transport & Highways

    7. Kumari Selja

    Social Justice & Empowerment

    8. Pawan Kumar Bansal


    9. Salman Khurshid

    External Affairs

    10. Jairam Ramesh

    Rural Development


    1. Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia


    2. K.H. Muniappa

    Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises

    3. Bharatsinh Madhavsinh Solanki

    Drinking Water & Sanitation

    4. Sachin Pilot

    Corporate Affairs

    5. Jitendra Singh

    Youth Affairs & Sports


    1. E. Ahamed

    External Affairs

    2. D. Purandeswari

    Commerce & Industry

    3. Jitin Prasada

    Defence & Human Resource Development

    4. S. Jagathrakshakan

    New & Renewable Energy

    5. R.P.N. Singh


    6. K.C. Venugopal

    Civil Aviation

    7. Rajeev Shukla

    Parliamentary Affairs & Planning.

    [email protected]

    SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
    Posted on 28 October 2012



  About Us | Advertise With Us | Print Subscriptions | Syndication | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Bouquets & Brickbats